It is worth stopping off in Hospental, also because of Mariä Himmelfahrt parish church, among other sights. The church dates from the early 18th century and is ornately decorated inside.
Today’s church was built as a replacement for an earlier chapel between 1706 and 1711. The church tower was not completed until just over 20 years later.
The design of the facades is typical of the Baroque buildings in the Ursern Valley, which are associated with Bartholomäus Schmid (1660-1738). Schmid worked as the master builder for the churches in Andermatt and Hospental, St Karl chapel and almshouse, and private constructions in Hospental.
The parish church captivates through its interior fittings: the church’s lofty interior is vaulted by a stucco ceiling, the quality of which was an absolute distinctive feature at the time. Likewise made of stucco is the chancel, which, thanks to special painting, looks as though it is built out of marble. The baptismal stone in front of the St Joseph altar is made out of soapstone, which has been quarried above Hospental since the 16th century.
The high altar from 1720 is a representative work from the workshop of Valais native Johann Ritz. The side altars are maintained in a somewhat simpler style. The family altar dates from a more recent time.
On the choir walls, a picture shows an angel, who places Hospental under the protection of a group of saints. Within this picture another picture can be seen, which represents the oldest known view of Hospental.
A tip: In the summer, a visit to the church can be combined with the Hospental – Andermatt power place route and/or with a village walking tour in Hospental.