The toll bridge with its archway dating from 1556, in the old village heart of Göschenen, spans the Reuss at Göschenen. The toll station of Uri was located there well into the 17th century.
The toll bridge was a toll station for Uri residents travelling South through the Schöllenen Gorge and across the Gotthard until in the 19th century. At the time, the ascent through the Schöllenen Gorge was demanding and dangerous.
It is supposed that the old gate was replaced in 1556 and the bridge was already built out of stone at that time. The toll bridge’s roadway consists of “Reuss boulder paving” to this day. This paving is typical for the Gotthard mule path.
Today, through-traffic uses a bridge built between 1818/36, which is located 150 metres downriver from the toll bridge.
Toll bridge in the community coat of arms
The importance of the toll bridge in the history of Göschenen is also evident in the community coat of arms, which illustrates both the toll bridge and the mail horn. The toll bridge, where duties were collected until 1830, is a final testament to the muleteer era – the centuries when mercenaries, pilgrims, muleteers, traders and cattle-herders moved from North to South. The mail horn symbolises the mail traffic that likewise drove across the Gotthard.
Tour of Gotthard Tunnel village Göschenen
The toll bridge is one of 14 stops on the Gotthardtunneldorf Göschenen tour, which can be undertaken individually or with a guide upon request from approximately May to October.